Fuzzy Roots? Don’t Panic.

Earlier today I was doting over my Monstera andansonii as I often do as it sits directly next to my desk. Out of curiosity I pulled it out of its decorative pot to see if I could get a peek at any root action through the grow pot drainage holes. I immediately panicked! I had no idea you could see the life of a plant flash before your eyes but there I was. It sure enough had some nice little roots emerging from those drainage holes but there was something different about these roots. They were white and fuzzy! Now, as I’ve mentioned, I’m still very new to the plant game. My love for them started toward the beginning of the COVID lock down about 3 months ago. I have only heard the horror stories of root rot and other fungal infections. So, when I saw white fuzz, I immediately assumed it was rot. I jumped to my favorite plant group on Facebook to get advice on helping this baby out. It was kindly pointed out to me that what I was looking at was not rot or any kind of fungus but a plant structure that helps keep the plant happy and thriving. Root hairs!

I’m sure (or, at least I hope) that I’m not the first plant newbie to go through this. So, that’s what this post is for! Below, I’ll outline what these little hairs are and how they benefit your plant. I’ll also share some information on root rot and how to properly identify it.

Root Hair

  • Fine, white, tubular hairs that grow laterally from the root. (See picture below)
  • Increases root surface to allow your plant to soak up as much water and nutrients as your plant needs.
  • Also helps the plant anchor in the soil.
  • Only survive for a few days and won’t ever turn into roots themselves.
  • Leave them alone! They’re incredibly delicate.
  • May not be as long and obvious on all plants. Don’t panic if you can’t see them!
Root Hairs!

Root Rot

  • Causes roots to become dark and mushy. (See picture below)
  • Roots may fall off if touched.
  • Healthy roots may vary in color but will be firm to the touch.
  • Typically caused by prolonged exposure to water (i.e. lack of proper drainage) or fungus.
  • May be a cause of drooping or yellowing leaves.
Unhealthy, rotting roots.

I hope this has helped you grasp a basic understanding of root health and what to look for! Thanks for reading.

One thought on “Fuzzy Roots? Don’t Panic.

  1. I love the comparison of root hairs to root rot and can’t help but read it in the context of your first post and the impact of plants to mental health. Being kind to yourself and others is like root hair. It helps you soak up the positive energy in the world and anchor yourself to humanity. Positivity can be very fragile right now, but even if you can’t see it, don’t panic! It’s out there somewhere! No need to waste my time with root rot.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started